DevOps – Development & Operations

DevOps – Development & Operations
Picture: Roman Samborskyi | Dreamstime
Ratmir Belov
Journalist-writer

Thanks to developing technologies, we can do everything faster, better and with less and less resource consumption. We can see this in every industry, but undoubtedly IT is the leader in this area – new tools and methodologies are being developed, including DevOps. What it is?

What is DevOps?

Although this method has become popular relatively recently, it is not new in the IT world. It was discussed back in 2009 at a conference in Ghent, which opened a series of meetings called DevOps Days. His main suggestion is to improve communication and collaboration between development and admin teams. Hence the name, which combines development and operation (eng. Development & Operations – “development and operation”).

DevOps is a new way of executing software projects where two departments that used to work separately now collaborate with each other. Why did companies start making these changes? To improve the production process.

What has changed with DevOps?

Prior to the application of this methodology, the two main departments responsible for the implementation of the project had different priorities and goals. The developers wanted to complete the programming work as quickly as possible and implement the software at the customer’s site. However, this policy was contrary to the interests of the administrative department, which preferred to keep the number of code changes to a minimum.

DevOps
Picture: Roman Samborskyi | Dreamstime

What is the result of this model of work? More errors, more delivery times and costs, and a lower quality of the delivered product. Everyone lost: the company, employees and end users.

The solution was found in combining the two divisions into one team, whose members share their knowledge and findings with each other. This is how DevOps originally functioned, and it is in this form that smaller companies are now implementing it – administrators get acquainted with the basics of production knowledge, and developers develop competencies in the field of support.

Domain Driven Design – DDD Programming
Domain Driven Design – DDD Programming

Another change is the increased interest in process automation (testing, analysis, implementation and monitoring) and cloud infrastructure, which have become an integral part of DevOps. The IT world has acquired not only a very practical methodology, but also a wide range of new tools and technologies. Changes in the mode of operation have been so effective that more companies are implementing them, and a new position has appeared on the market – DevOps engineer.

Iterative work model

A very important modification that we owe to DevOps is the replacement of the waterfall work model with an iterative one. What does this mean and what are the benefits? The “traditional” or cascading system divides the project implementation process into separate stages, going one after the other. It is important to note that in order to start working on the next phase of the project, you must first complete all the tasks from the previous phases. This model has proven problematic because all subsequent steps must be completed if modifications are required at an earlier stage of implementation.

Cookies are mysterious files that few people know about
Cookies are mysterious files that few people know about

It was also noticed that during the implementation process, customer expectations change, which forced the team to make multiple corrections. As you might guess, huge resources of time were spent, and as a result, the final effect was far from perfect.

These shortcomings were eliminated in the iterative model. Initially, only rough assumptions are made here, which are checked and refined later in the implementation process. Also, instead of waiting for all the work to complete, code snippets are committed and tested as early as possible. Thus, the team responds quickly to possible change needs, and the final results are fully in line with current customer expectations.

Who is DevOps for?

The biggest beneficiaries of this method are organizations whose operations require frequent, but not necessarily major, changes to the product’s infrastructure.

DevOps
Picture: Elnur | Dreamstime

It is worth emphasizing that the IT industry is not a monopoly here, although it may seem so. Companies from e-commerce, banking, telecoms, media, and other sectors alike are looking to use DevOps. Examples are just around the corner: Google, Netflix, Etsy, Facebook, Amazon. In the case of these giants, the code is even injected several hundred times a day!

Does DevOps have a future?

Companies that have decided to implement DevOps see much more to this method than just automation and work culture. They understand that the winner is the supplier who can work faster, more efficiently and with better results than the competition. Therefore, the statistics that, for example, 77% of American enterprises declare the use of DevOps in the implementation process or have such a solution in the near future is not surprising.

Infographics – the art of presenting information
Infographics – the art of presenting information

Studies also show that the most successful cybersecurity companies are the most successful DevOps companies. Therefore, the conclusions are clear. With security currently at the top of to-do lists around the world, DevOps can only go from strength to strength.

1
Content Share

DevOps — Development & Operations

DevOps — Development & Operations
Фото: Roman Samborskyi | Dreamstime
Ратмир Белов
Журналист-райтер

Благодаря развивающимся технологиям мы можем делать все быстрее, качественнее и со все меньшим потреблением ресурсов. Мы можем наблюдать это в каждой отрасли, но, несомненно, IT является лидером в этой области — разрабатываются новые инструменты и методологии, включая и DevOps. Что это такое?

Что такое DevOps?

Хотя этот метод стал популярен относительно недавно, он не является новинкой в мире IT. Его обсуждали еще в 2009 году на конференции в Генте, открывавшей серию встреч под названием DevOps Days. Его основное предположение заключается в улучшении связи и сотрудничества между командами разработчиков и администраторов. Отсюда и название, объединяющее разработку и эксплуатацию (англ. Development & Operations — «разработка и эксплуатация»).

DevOps — это новый способ реализации программных проектов, благодаря которому два отдела, ранее работавшие по отдельности, теперь сотрудничают друг с другом. Почему компании начали вносить подобные изменения? Чтобы улучшить производственный процесс.

Что изменилось благодаря DevOps?

До применения этой методологии у двух основных отделов, ответственных за реализацию проекта, были разные приоритеты и цели. Разработчики хотели как можно быстрее завершить работы по программированию и внедрить программное обеспечение на объекте заказчика. Однако эта политика противоречила интересам административного отдела, который предпочитал сводить количество изменений кода к минимуму.

DevOps
Фото: Roman Samborskyi | Dreamstime

Что получилось в результате этой модели работы? Больше ошибок, больше сроков и затрат на доставку, а также более низкое качество поставляемого продукта. Проигрывали все: компания, сотрудники и конечные пользователи.

Решение было найдено в объединении двух подразделений в одну команду, члены которой делятся друг с другом своими знаниями и выводами. Так изначально функционировал DevOps и именно в такой форме сейчас внедряют более мелкие компании — администраторы знакомятся с основами производственных знаний, а разработчики развивают компетенции в сфере сопровождения.

Domain Driven Design — DDD-программирование
Domain Driven Design — DDD-программирование

Еще одно изменение — повышенный интерес к автоматизации процессов (тестирование, анализ, внедрение и мониторинг) и облачной инфраструктуре, которые стали неотъемлемой частью DevOps. Мир IT обрел не только очень практичную методологию, но и широкий спектр новых инструментов и технологий. Изменения в режиме работы оказались настолько эффективными, что их внедряет все больше компаний, а на рынке появилась новая должность — DevOps-инженер.

Итеративная модель работы

Очень важной модификацией, которой мы обязаны DevOps, является замена каскадной модели работы на итеративную. Что это значит и каковы преимущества? «Традиционная» или каскадная система делит процесс реализации проекта на отдельные этапы, идущие один за другим. Важно отметить, что для того, чтобы начать работу над следующей фазой проекта, вы должны сначала выполнить все задачи из предыдущих фаз. Эта модель оказалась проблематичной, поскольку все последующие этапы должны быть завершены, если требуются модификации на более раннем этапе внедрения.

Cookies — загадочные файлы, о которых мало кто знает
Cookies — загадочные файлы, о которых мало кто знает

Также было замечено, что в процессе внедрения меняются ожидания клиентов, что вынуждало команду вносить множественные исправления. Как нетрудно догадаться, были потрачены огромные ресурсы времени, и в итоге конечный эффект был далек от совершенства.

Эти недостатки были устранены в итеративной модели. Вначале здесь делаются лишь приблизительные предположения, которые проверяются и уточняются позже, в процессе реализации. Кроме того, вместо того, чтобы ждать завершения всей работы, фрагменты кода передаются и тестируются как можно раньше. Таким образом, команда быстро реагирует на возможные потребности в изменениях, и конечные результаты полностью соответствуют текущим ожиданиям клиентов.

Для кого предназначен DevOps?

Больше всего от этого метода выигрывают организации, деятельность которых требует частых, но не обязательно крупных изменений в инфраструктуре продукта.

DevOps
Фото: Elnur | Dreamstime

Стоит подчеркнуть, что IT-индустрия здесь не является монополистом, хотя может так показаться. Компании из электронной коммерции, банковского дела, телекоммуникаций, СМИ и других секторов одинаково стремятся использовать DevOps. Примеры не за горами: Google, Netflix, Etsy, Facebook, Amazon. В случае с этими гигантами код внедряется даже по несколько сотен раз в день!

Есть ли будущее у DevOps?

Компании, которые решили внедрить DevOps, видят в этом методе гораздо больше, чем просто автоматизацию и культуру работы. Они понимают, что побеждает поставщик, который может работать быстрее, эффективнее и с лучшим результатом, чем конкуренты. Поэтому статистика о том, что, например, 77% американских предприятий заявляют об использовании DevOps в процессе внедрения или имеют такое решение в ближайших планах, не вызывает удивления.

Инфографика — искусство подачи информации
Инфографика — искусство подачи информации

Исследования также показывают, что самые успешные компании в области кибербезопасности — это самые успешные компании, использующие DevOps. Поэтому выводы очевидны. Поскольку безопасность в настоящее время занимает первое место в списках задач по всему миру, DevOps может только набирать силу.

1
Содержание Поделиться