Iodine is one of the most important trace elements in the human body

Iodine is one of the most important trace elements in the human body
Picture: Airborne77 | Dreamstime
Victoria Mamaeva
Pharmaceutical Specialist

Iodine is a chemical element that is essential for the proper functioning of the body. Iodine should be included in every person’s diet.

Its natural source in food is fish. Iodine deficiency can lead to hypothyroidism, goiter, physical and mental retardation. These are serious health problems that require long-term treatment.

Characteristics and properties of iodine

Iodine is involved in the synthesis of thyroid hormones. Almost eighty percent of this element is located in the thyroid gland, the rest is localized in the ovaries, bones and blood. This element contributes to the production of hormones – thyroxine and triiodothyronine. These hormones affect the functioning of the nervous, muscular and cardiovascular systems.

People who live near the sea are in a better position, because the soils in these places are very rich in iodine, due to which the plants grown there contain it in significant quantities. But the farther from coastal areas, the less this element in the soil and in the air.

Some studies have shown that there is a great need for mandatory salt iodization, since some regions cannot provide their residents with sufficient amounts of this element in water or food.

The body’s need for iodine

This need depends on the age and physiological state of the person. Babies under 6 months of age need 40 micrograms of iodine per day. Infants 7 to 12 months – 50 mcg.

Iodine
Picture: Yulianny | Dreamstime

According to the latest recommendations, children aged 1-6 years need 90 micrograms of iodine, children 7-9 years old need 100 micrograms, boys and girls aged 10-12 years old need 120 micrograms per day, and young people aged 13-18 years old need 100 micrograms of iodine. 150 micrograms of iodine.

Adults need 160 micrograms of iodine per day. The need increases during pregnancy and lactation. Pregnant women are recommended to take 220 micrograms of iodine daily, and nursing mothers – 290 micrograms of this element.

This element is missing

This deficiency can lead to many health complications. What people consume significantly affects the endocrine system, including the thyroid gland. If the diet is poor in iodine, then serious disorders in the endocrine system can occur.

Vegetables – everything is useful that got into your mouth
Vegetables – everything is useful that got into your mouth

Endemic goiter is an enlargement of the thyroid gland. People with this condition have a noticeable swelling at the base of the neck. This problem affects both women and men. The most common cause of this health problem is insufficient levels of iodine in our diet.

There are foods that interfere with the absorption of the aforementioned substance. Such foods that suppress the production of thyroid hormones include all types of cabbage. For this reason, the inclusion of cabbage in the diet is not recommended for people with iodine deficiency.

Iodine deficiency can cause mental and physical retardation in children, as well as reduced learning ability. In adults, iodine deficiency can contribute to fertility problems, miscarriage, or problems maintaining a pregnancy.

Cocoa – a healthy and tasty miracle of nature
Cocoa – a healthy and tasty miracle of nature

Hypothyroidism is associated with significant hormone deficiency. This problem can manifest itself as constant fatigue, problems with concentration and memory, lack of energy, joint and muscle pain, brittle nails, frequent respiratory infections, hair loss, problems with the immune system. In extreme situations, iodine deficiency can lead to death. The iodine contained in food is easily absorbed, which allows you to compensate for any shortcomings and protect yourself from serious consequences.

Proper diet

The easiest way to compensate for the lack of iodine is to eat a healthy diet. Foods rich in iodine mainly include marine fish (cod, pollock, tuna, mackerel, salmon, herring, flounder, rainbow trout). Dairy products (roquefort cheese, edam cheese and brie cheese) contain a significant dose of iodine.

Iodine
Picture: Tatjana Baibakova | Dreamstime

People who want to add iodine to their diet should also consume cereals, including wheat bran, oatmeal, rye flakes. Foods high in iodine are yeast, algae, and water from areas rich in this element. Vegetables with the highest iodine content include broccoli and spinach.

Prevention of thyroid diseases

Prevention of thyroid diseases lies precisely in the delivery of iodine. To do this, you often need to eat sea fish and seafood. Marine fish also contain beneficial omega-3 fatty acids. Iodine can also be found in foods grown in soil rich in this element.

Superfood – food that should be in the diet
Superfood – food that should be in the diet

As a preventive measure, mandatory iodization of table salt and mixtures that replace milk for infants is used. Other foods are often iodized as well. Animal feed is also iodized. As already mentioned, some foods, such as Brussels sprouts, white cabbage, and cauliflower, reduce iodine absorption. It is best to use them boiled, then the content of unfavorable substances will decrease by 30 percent.

Although there is little risk of iodine overdose, iodine preparations should only be taken after consultation and under medical supervision.

Use bath salt solution

Salt bath solution is another way to make up for the lack of iodine. Salt solution is nothing but water containing salt and iodine. It abounds in minerals important for the body, for this reason it is worth resorting to this wellness procedure from time to time. To do this, add one glass of solution to the bath. Iodine is easily soluble in water, so it is perfectly absorbed into the skin. Bath salt solution nourishes, moisturizes, smoothes and firms our skin, reduces stretch marks (scars) or skin rashes.

Coenzyme Q10 – activator of cellular energy
Coenzyme Q10 – activator of cellular energy

Saline solution can work in different ways. For example, to expand the pores, due to which the body gets rid of harmful toxins, while simultaneously absorbing the mineral substances contained in the solution. It also protects the respiratory tract from infections. It has antibacterial, anti-inflammatory and antifungal properties, so it can be used for people with skin diseases such as psoriasis, atopic dermatitis, contact eczema, allergies.

If you need to supply your body with a large amount of iodine, then you do not need to go to the sea. It is enough to use a saline bath solution, as well as include foods rich in iodine in your diet. The use of saline solution in cold compresses has an anti-inflammatory effect. These cold compresses are especially recommended for bruises and bruises. Hot salt compresses have a calming and warming effect.

1
Content Share

Йод — один из важнейших микроэлементов организма человека

Йод — один из важнейших микроэлементов организма человека
Фото: Airborne77 | Dreamstime
Виктория Мамаева
Специалист в области "Фармация"

Йод — это химический элемент, который необходим для правильного функционирования организма. Йод должен быть включен в рацион каждого человека.

Его натуральным источником в пище является рыба. Дефицит йода может привести к гипотиреозу, возникновению зоба, задержке физического и умственного развития. Это серьезные нарушения здоровья, которые требуют длительного лечения.

Характеристика и свойства йода

Йод участвует в синтезе гормонов щитовидной железы. Почти восемьдесят процентов этого элемента находится именно в щитовидной железе, остальное локализуется в яичниках, костях и крови. Этот элемент способствует выработке гормонов — тироксина и трийодтиронина. Эти гормоны влияют на работу нервной, мышечной и сердечно-сосудистой систем.

Люди, живущие у моря, находятся в лучшем положении, так как почвы в этих местах очень богаты йодом, благодаря чему выращенные там растения содержат его в значительных количествах. А вот чем дальше от прибрежных районов, тем меньше этого элемента в почвах и в воздухе.

Некоторые исследования показали, что существует большая необходимость в обязательном йодировании поваренной соли, поскольку некоторые регионы не могут обеспечить своих жителей достаточным количеством этого элемента в воде или пище.

Потребность организма в йоде

Эта потребность зависит от возраста и физиологического состояния человека. Младенцам до 6 месяцев требуется 40 мкг йода в день. Младенцам от 7 до 12 месяцев — 50 мкг.

Iodine
Фото: Yulianny | Dreamstime

Согласно последним рекомендациям, детям в возрасте 1-6 лет необходимо 90 мкг йода, детям 7-9 лет — 100 мкг, мальчикам и девочкам в возрасте 10-12 лет требуется 120 мкг в день, а молодым людям в возрасте 13-18 лет — 150 мкг йода.

Взрослым необходимо 160 мкг йода в день. Потребность возрастает во время беременности и в период лактации. Беременным женщинам рекомендуется ежедневно принимать 220 мкг йода, а кормящим матерям — 290 мкг этого элемента.

Дефицит этого элемента

Этот дефицит может привести ко многим осложнениям со здоровьем. То, что люди употребляют, существенно влияет на эндокринную систему, в том числе и на щитовидную железу. Если рацион беден йодом, то могут возникнуть серьезные нарушения в эндокринной системе.

Овощи — все полезно, что в рот полезло
Овощи — все полезно, что в рот полезло

Эндемический зоб — это увеличение щитовидной железы. У людей с этим недугом наблюдается заметная припухлость у основания шеи. Эта проблема затрагивает как женщин, так и мужчин. Наиболее распространенной причиной возникновения этой проблемы со здоровьем является недостаточный уровень йода в нашем рационе.

Существуют продукты, которые препятствуют усвоению вышеупомянутого вещества. К таким продуктам, подавляющим производство гормонов щитовидной железы, относятся все виды капусты. По этой причине включение в рацион капусты не рекомендуется людям с дефицитом йода.

Дефицит йода может вызвать задержку умственного и физического развития у детей, а также снижение способности к обучению. У взрослых недостаток йода может способствовать нарушениям фертильности, вызывать выкидыши или проблемы с сохранением беременности.

Какао — полезное и вкусное чудо природы
Какао — полезное и вкусное чудо природы

Гипотиреоз связан со значительным дефицитом гормонов. Эта проблема может проявляться постоянной усталостью, проблемами с концентрацией и памятью, недостатком энергии, болями в суставах и мышцах, ломкостью ногтей, частыми респираторными инфекциями, выпадением волос, проблемами с иммунной системой. В крайних ситуациях нехватка йода может привести к смерти. Йод, содержащийся в пище, легко усваивается, что позволяет компенсировать любые недостатки и защититься от серьезных последствий.

Правильная диета

Самый простой метод компенсировать недостаток йода — придерживаться здоровой диеты. Продукты, богатые йодом, в основном включают морскую рыбу (треска, минтай, тунец, макрель, лосось, сельдь, камбала, радужная форель). Значительную дозу йода содержат молочные продукты (сыр рокфор, сыр эдам и сыр бри).

Iodine
Фото: Tatjana Baibakova | Dreamstime

Людям, которые хотят добавить йод в свой рацион, также следует употреблять злаки, в том числе пшеничные отруби, овсяные хлопья, ржаные хлопья. Продуктами с высоким содержанием йода являются дрожжи, водоросли и вода из районов, богатых этим элементом. Овощи с наибольшим содержанием йода включают брокколи и шпинат.

Профилактика заболеваний щитовидной железы

Профилактика заболеваний щитовидной железы заключается именно в доставке йода. Для этого нужно часто употреблять морскую рыбу и морепродукты. Морская рыба также содержит полезные omega-3 жирные кислоты. Йод также можно найти в продуктах, выращенных на почве с богатым содержанием этого элемента.

Суперфуд — еда, которая должна быть в рационе
Суперфуд — еда, которая должна быть в рационе

В качестве профилактики применяется обязательное йодирование поваренной соли и смесей, заменяющих молоко для грудных детей. Часто йодируются и другие пищевые продукты. Корма, предназначенные для животных, также подвергаются йодированию. Как уже упоминалось, некоторые продукты, такие как брюссельская, белокочанная и цветная капуста, снижают абсорбцию йода. Лучше всего употреблять их в вареном виде, тогда содержание неблагоприятных веществ снизится на 30 процентов.

Несмотря на то, что риск передозировки йода невелик, препараты с йодом следует принимать только после консультации и под наблюдением врача.

Использование солевого раствора для ванн

Солевой раствор для ванн — еще один метод восполнить нехватку йода. Солевой раствор — это не что иное, как вода, содержащая соль и йод. Он изобилует важными для организма минералами, по этой причине стоит время от времени прибегать к этой оздоровительной процедуре. Для этого нужно добавить один стакан раствора в ванну. Йод легко растворяется в воде, поэтому отлично впитывается в кожу. Солевой раствор для ванн питает, увлажняет, разглаживает и укрепляет нашу кожу, уменьшает растяжки (рубцы) или сыпь на коже.

Коэнзим Q10 — активатор клеточной энергии
Коэнзим Q10 — активатор клеточной энергии

Солевой раствор может действовать по-разному. К примеру, расширять поры, благодаря чему организм избавляется от вредных токсинов, одновременно впитывая содержащиеся в растворе минеральные вещества. Также защищает дыхательные пути от инфекций. Обладает антибактериальными, противовоспалительными и противогрибковыми свойствами, поэтому его можно применять людям с такими кожными заболеваниями, как псориаз, атопический дерматит, контактная экзема, аллергия.

Если необходимо снабдить свой организм большим количеством йода, то вам не нужно ехать на море. Достаточно использовать солевой раствор для ванн, а также включить в свой рацион продукты, богатые йодом. Использование солевого раствора в холодных компрессах оказывает противовоспалительное действие. Эти холодные компрессы особенно рекомендуются при синяках и ушибах. Горячие солевые компрессы обладают успокаивающим и согревающим действием.

1
Содержание Поделиться